Super Space Chick

Now We Rise: Children of Blood and Bone Blog Tour

It’s no secret that Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is getting a lot of hype but I am pleased to say that it is well deserved!  This past weekend I finally found the time to buckle down and start reading Children of Blood and Bone and I devoured over half of it in just two days (and considering I usually never read on weekends, that’s saying something!). I even woke up extra early before work on Monday so I could continue reading and I cannot wait to find out how the story will end.  It follows the three perspectives of Zelie, a headstrong young girl tasked with bringing magic back to Orisha, the Princess Amari who’s defying her father and aiding Zelie, and Amari’s brother, the villain of the tale, hellbent on eradicating the threat of magic for good.  The worldbuilding is incredible and I’m happy that I decided to read this book!  I talked about Children of Blood and Bone a bit more in my BookTube video yesterday if you’re interested in hearing more about it.
Here’s a synopsis of the book: Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.
Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. 
But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.
Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. 
Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy. 
One of the most fascinating aspects of the world are all the different ways that magic manifests within the diviners.  Fierce Reads put together this handy chart that let’s you figure out what Maji clan you would belong to!  All you have to do is add the month and date of your birthday and then you’ll find your clan! According to the chart, I would be a Lighter, meaning I would be able to manipulate light and darkness, which is totally appropriate since I have a major candle addiction!

One Response to “Now We Rise: Children of Blood and Bone Blog Tour”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge